Uncategorized

Keep Going. (Perseverance)

Hey Folks,

March was quite a crazy month. I spent much of the time moving into my new place and getting settled… which I am still not done with. I was a little worried that I might not get much artwork done.

Thankfully I did manage to get some practice in and work on a few things, including a digital painting of a D&D character of mine Tayla. I’ve made work of her before, she is just fun to draw. She is a regular character in my D&D games so I enjoy tinkering with her design based on what’s going on in the game at the time.

tayla3bweb1

While working on this I remembered that I had some older drawings of the character. I ended up digging through my folders to take a look at them. After looking at the drawing from 2014 I realized how much progress I have made.

Sometimes I get too focused on the flaws in my work and forget that even though my work has its problems I am still making progress. Being able to look at both my 2014 and 2016 drawings and know solidly that I am making progress is very validating.

 

Compare1

Continued practice, even if it’s only five minutes at a time, it is so worth it.

I know my work is far from perfect… I think there is a TON I can improve on, but I work very hard to not let that deter me from trying. Taking a single step will get you closer to your goal than never taking any. I sometimes catch myself saying “when my work is better I’ll be able to do X” in reality I just need to do it and not worry about being perfect at it.
fd3d970c53aa6ae1dfdda0c2aa7c344c883bf5455bf924fdb6e3d8b1f4983385
In the cartoon Adventure Time, Jake the dog says it perfectly. “Sucking at something is the first step to becoming sorta good at something”.  It’s an important lesson and I know not a whole lot of people will read this, but if you do and you are learning a skill; art or otherwise… keep going. If you don’t like the way your work is coming out or you aren’t that good at it just keep doing it, you will get better at it.

I am adding a link HERE to a video that my friend Nick made with this very subject in mind. Feel free to check it out. It’s a great reminder when you find your self in a slump.

Thanks for checking this out!

You can check out my Portfolio HERE

You can reach me on Twitter HERE

See you next month!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

