Archive

Let’s kick some Polys!

It’s been a nutty week, busy, sick and riding the waves of creativity.

I have spent the past week working on two models for my up coming project. The goal for this project is to have fun making something that will force me out of my comfort zone.  I am keeping my poly-count on the lower end of the spectrum, but still allowing myself to add detail where I need it.

Me working in the Maya 3D interface

As I have been working on this project It dawned on me that I have created both of these figures before, a couple of years ago. It took me 4 times as long and they never really reached an acceptable point of completion.  Thinking about their new and re-purposed existence has given me a greater feeling of confidence in my work.

Human Character

This project is kind of my own take on the Jurassic Park: Survival trailer and is inspired heavily by both the movies and Jurassic Park: Trespasser.  For whatever reason I tend to give everything I work on some sense of context; even if no one else ever become of aware of it. As I was story boarding the project I quickly thought up a vague character of a corporate spy from a rival company to InGen coming to Isla Sorna (Site B)(or maybe even Site A) some time after the  San Diego incident of Jurassic Park: The Lost World, to steal their genetic research.

Raptor
Raptor

There are plenty of details to hammer out on these two, but for the most part the modeling is complete. Next week we should see some modeled props and texture being painted on these guys.  As this develops I’ll be sure to  spend some time on some more glamorous renders.

Stay tuned for more updates.

Below see more screen shots of the project.

Human and Raptor, just chillin.
"Because we are being hunted."
More of the Human
Leave a Reply

