Archive

“Hang on, this is gonna be bad.”

I mean each weekend… Yeah, I’ll update each weekend or if things get silly each week. Anyway check in Saturday or Sunday.

anyway.

I have been spending a lot of time reading, playing and thinking about two Jurassic Park games.

One being the Jurassic Park: Trespasser.

“Oh, yeah. Oooh, ahhh, that’s how it always starts. Then later there’s running and screaming.” – Dr. Ian Malcolm

The game came out in 1997, I played this game personally for the first time in 7th grade the day it came out.  At the time I had been playing Goldeneye for the N64 and the Doom Series, I expected this game to be similar style but with Dinosaurs… It wasn’t, it played like a bag of rocks. In 7th grade I couldn’t appreciate what the game had going for it.  Over ten years later I found a copy and began to explore it. Although the game was rushed through production it was one of the first to feature large out door environments and physics. This kind of physics game play had not really been implemented until Half-Life 2 (although Havok SDK had been released in 2000), nearly half a decade after trespasser had been released. It took some getting used to but I was able to play the game and have fun doing it.

Would you like to know more?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jurassic_Park:_Trespasser

http://www.trescom.org/

The other game was never released, Jurassic Park: Survival.

This game was meant to be released at around the same time as the Jurassic Park III. Although it was a movie property game it’s story was not copy-pasted from the movie. It had more to do with corporate espionage than just blind survival. The art work from this game looked compelling for it’s time (2000-2002), though the Rex could have been more impressive. Then again the game wasn’t finished, so the one in the screen shots could have just been a stand in. From the trailer the game looks similar to the Tomb Raider and Uncharted series which at the time could have been a very interesting way to tell a Jurassic Park story.

Would to like to know more?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jurassic_Park:_Survival

I remember reading about these games, staring wide eyed at the images in my video game magazines. Seeing Jurassic Park: Trespasser on the shelf at K-Mart. The embossed raptor, mouth agape promising me hours of horror and story.

With that thought in mind, after reading the things have on both of these games and not to mention my childhood obsession with the movies I have begun work on a project. A project to honor the memory of what these two games could have been and a project that is damn fun to work on.

My base figure models are done, at least for the time being. I have already begun to work with one of them to see how useful they are going to be in future projects, so far they seem like a life/time saver.

(posted a few things in my 3D sketch pad.)

